Unix Technical Forum

Please ignore ...

This is a discussion on Please ignore ... within the Pgsql Performance forums, part of the PostgreSQL category; --> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE----- Hash: SHA1 Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on ...


Go Back   Unix Technical Forum > Database Server Software > PostgreSQL > Pgsql Performance

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:07 AM
Marc G. Fournier
 
Posts: n/a
Default Please ignore ...

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1


Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on their
mailbox, which is bouncing back messages ... this is an attempt to try and
narrow down the address that is causing this ...

- --
Marc G. Fournier Hub.Org Hosting Solutions S.A. (http://www.hub.org)
Email . scrappy@hub.org MSN . scrappy@hub.org
Yahoo . yscrappy Skype: hub.org ICQ . 7615664
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v2.0.8 (FreeBSD)

iEYEARECAAYFAkgZRAAACgkQ4QvfyHIvDvNHrwCcDdlkjAXSyf yOBa5vgfLVOrSb
JyoAn005bSbY6lnyjGmlOQzj7fSMNSKV
=n5PC
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----


--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:07 AM
D'Arcy J.M. Cain
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

On Thu, 01 May 2008 01:16:00 -0300
"Marc G. Fournier" <scrappy@hub.org> wrote:
> Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on their


Argh! Why do people think that it is OK to make their spam problem
everyone else's problem? Whenever I see one of those I simply
blackhole the server sending them.

People, please, I know the spam you get isn't your fault but it isn't my
fault either. You clean up your mailbox and I'll clean up mine.

--
D'Arcy J.M. Cain <darcy@druid.net> | Democracy is three wolves
http://www.druid.net/darcy/ | and a sheep voting on
+1 416 425 1212 (DoD#0082) (eNTP) | what's for dinner.

--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:07 AM
Justin
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

D'Arcy J.M. Cain wrote:
> On Thu, 01 May 2008 01:16:00 -0300
> "Marc G. Fournier" <scrappy@hub.org> wrote:
>
>> Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on their
>>

>
> Argh! Why do people think that it is OK to make their spam problem
> everyone else's problem? Whenever I see one of those I simply
> blackhole the server sending them.
>
> People, please, I know the spam you get isn't your fault but it isn't my
> fault either. You clean up your mailbox and I'll clean up mine.
>
>

I second that completely

We use http://www.commtouch.com/
which is built into GMS along with black holes
When they added commtouch to the server our spam went to maybe 2 to 5
spam messages a day per mailbox with only a handful of false positives
over the past 2 years.

Now if i can get them to dump MySQL as the backend

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:07 AM
Greg Smith
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

On Thu, 1 May 2008, D'Arcy J.M. Cain wrote:

> Whenever I see one of those I simply blackhole the server sending them.


Ah, the ever popular vigilante spam method. What if the message is coming
from, say, gmail.com, and it's getting routed so that you're not sure
which account is originating it? Do you blackhole everybody on *that*
server just because there's one idiot?

This is the same problem on a smaller scale. It's not clear which account
is reponsible, and I believe I saw that there are other people using the
same ISP who also subscribe to the list. That's why Marc is testing who
the guilty party is rather than unsubscribing everyone there.

--
* Greg Smith gsmith@gregsmith.com http://www.gregsmith.com Baltimore, MD

--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:07 AM
D'Arcy J.M. Cain
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

On Thu, 1 May 2008 02:55:10 -0400 (EDT)
Greg Smith <gsmith@gregsmith.com> wrote:
> On Thu, 1 May 2008, D'Arcy J.M. Cain wrote:
>
> > Whenever I see one of those I simply blackhole the server sending them.

>
> Ah, the ever popular vigilante spam method. What if the message is coming
> from, say, gmail.com, and it's getting routed so that you're not sure
> which account is originating it? Do you blackhole everybody on *that*
> server just because there's one idiot?


Well, I actually do block gmail groups on another list that is
gatewayed to a newsgroup due to the volume of spam that originates from
there but in this case my experience has been that it is done by a
service. For example, I reject all email from spamarrest.com. There
is nothing I want to see from them.

> This is the same problem on a smaller scale. It's not clear which account
> is reponsible, and I believe I saw that there are other people using the
> same ISP who also subscribe to the list. That's why Marc is testing who
> the guilty party is rather than unsubscribing everyone there.


Of course. If someone is running it on a server independent of the ISP
that's a different story. However, it is pretty hard to run that code
on most ISPs without the cooperation of the ISP. That's why there are
companies like SpamArrest. People who run their own server and are in
a position to do this themself tend to also be smart enough to
understand why it is a bad idea.

On the other hand, this type of thing is no different than spam and in
this day and age every ISP, no matter how big, has a responsibility to
deal with spammers on their own system and if they don't they deserve
to be blocked just like any other spam-friendly system.

The fact that Marc has to run this test and does not immediately know
who the guilty party is suggests to me that they are using a service. I
never saw the offending message myself so perhaps it is coming from
SpamArrest and I just rejected the email on my SMTP server.

--
D'Arcy J.M. Cain <darcy@druid.net> | Democracy is three wolves
http://www.druid.net/darcy/ | and a sheep voting on
+1 416 425 1212 (DoD#0082) (eNTP) | what's for dinner.

--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008, 06:53 AM
Alvaro Herrera
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

Marc G. Fournier wrote:

> Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on their
> mailbox, which is bouncing back messages ... this is an attempt to try and
> narrow down the address that is causing this ...


Did you find out?

--
Alvaro Herrera http://www.CommandPrompt.com/
The PostgreSQL Company - Command Prompt, Inc.

--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 11:04 PM
Alvaro Herrera
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Please ignore ...

Marc G. Fournier wrote:

> Someone on this list has one of those 'confirm your email' filters on their
> mailbox, which is bouncing back messages ... this is an attempt to try and
> narrow down the address that is causing this ...


So it seems you're still unable to determine the problematic address?

--
Alvaro Herrera http://www.CommandPrompt.com/
The PostgreSQL Company - Command Prompt, Inc.

--
Sent via pgsql-performance mailing list (pgsql-performance@postgresql.org)
To make changes to your subscription:
http://www.postgresql.org/mailpref/pgsql-performance

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
www.UnixAdminTalk.com