Unix Technical Forum

OT: blocked emails

This is a discussion on OT: blocked emails within the Slackware Linux Support forums, part of the Unix Operating Systems category; --> I had setup a server with exim mail daemon and for about 3 weeks I was relaying spam without ...


Go Back   Unix Technical Forum > Unix Operating Systems > Slackware Linux Support

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:21 AM
Ryan
 
Posts: n/a
Default OT: blocked emails

I had setup a server with exim mail daemon and for about 3 weeks I was
relaying spam without knowing it. The relaying has been disabled for quite
some time but still I can't send email to netscape.com or aol accounts and
in Yahoo! anything coming from my server shows up in the Bulk email
folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?

-ryan
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Andreas Paasch
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

Attempting to reach the Kolinahr, Ryan wrote:

> I had setup a server with exim mail daemon and for about 3 weeks I was
> relaying spam without knowing it. The relaying has been disabled for quite
> some time but still I can't send email to netscape.com or aol accounts and
> in Yahoo! anything coming from my server shows up in the Bulk email
> folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?
>
> -ryan


Once you have identified the RBLs, you should visit their websites
individually and run their own tests against open relays.
That usually should clear you up one by one thus allowing you to send mail
to those recipients - and others - again.

During my initial mailserver setup - only a day or two - I had the same
problem, a few lists were quite fast so it took me some time to get my
domains and my IP off those lists again.

HTH,

/Andreas


--
#Peace and long life ...
Registeret Linux user #292411
If Mandrake goes RedHat, I go Slackware!


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Ryan
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

>> folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?
>>
>> -ryan

>
> Once you have identified the RBLs, you should visit their websites
> individually and run their own tests against open relays.
> That usually should clear you up one by one thus allowing you to send mail
> to those recipients - and others - again.
>
> During my initial mailserver setup - only a day or two - I had the same
> problem, a few lists were quite fast so it took me some time to get my
> domains and my IP off those lists again.
>
> HTH,
>
> /Andreas


How did you go about finding out which RBL corresponded to whic site? The
The main ones I'm worried about are netscape/aol and yahoo!.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Andreas Paasch
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

Attempting to reach the Kolinahr, Ryan wrote:

>>> folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?
>>>
>>> -ryan

>>
>> Once you have identified the RBLs, you should visit their websites
>> individually and run their own tests against open relays.
>> That usually should clear you up one by one thus allowing you to send mail
>> to those recipients - and others - again.
>>
>> During my initial mailserver setup - only a day or two - I had the same
>> problem, a few lists were quite fast so it took me some time to get my
>> domains and my IP off those lists again.
>>
>> HTH,
>>
>> /Andreas

>
> How did you go about finding out which RBL corresponded to whic site? The
> The main ones I'm worried about are netscape/aol and yahoo!.


I was told about a few, but that's more then 3 years ago now, so I really
don't recall how.
But, after that I weng google and started from an end ... found a few
sites that did query several lists, made the job a lot easier. Started out
testing if I was listed or not, and if, let their system check that I was
closed again, to get me removed.

/Andreas

--
#Peace and long life ...
Registeret Linux user #292411
If Mandrake goes RedHat, I go Slackware!


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Guy Macon
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails


The good news is that most RBLs will unblock an address within
a week or so of the spam stopping.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Alan Hicks
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

In alt.os.linux.slackware, Ryan dared to utter,
> How did you go about finding out which RBL corresponded to whic site? The
> The main ones I'm worried about are netscape/aol and yahoo!.


You'll have to google for this. I had to get a local ISP off of AOL's
black list a couple years back when they were relaying spam for several
months. As I recall, they don't immediately run any test, but rather
try to send e-mail through your servers at some random time in the
future.

- --
It is better to hear the rebuke of the wise,
Than for a man to hear the song of fools.
Ecclesiastes 7:5
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.1 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQFAdf2iL3KiNGOqr6ERArV2AJ4pGHapLEJ9Vd2t24wmkS M6dS0YYwCfbkGo
Ac+D/aWl7krKoRbGP4YbG5w=
=jSyL
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Doublehelix
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

Ryan wrote:
> I had setup a server with exim mail daemon and for about 3 weeks I was
> relaying spam without knowing it. The relaying has been disabled for quite
> some time but still I can't send email to netscape.com or aol accounts and
> in Yahoo! anything coming from my server shows up in the Bulk email
> folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?
>
> -ryan


I am sorry to say this, but this is very IRRESPONSIBLE. Because of such
mistakes, people who're serious about running secure email servers also
run into problems due to ISPs blocking the smtp ports. My ISP blocked
port 25 because of stupid people running servers on winxp and some
ignorant/irresponsible people running open relays on *nix boxes. An
entire community of Linux gurus and hobbyists was affected by this.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:28 AM
Ciro The Spider-Man
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OT: blocked emails

begin quote: Doublehelix wrote:
>
>
> Ryan wrote:
>> I had setup a server with exim mail daemon and for about 3 weeks I was
>> relaying spam without knowing it. The relaying has been disabled for quite
>> some time but still I can't send email to netscape.com or aol accounts and
>> in Yahoo! anything coming from my server shows up in the Bulk email
>> folder. Is there anyway to take my server off of the black list?
>>
>> -ryan

>
> I am sorry to say this, but this is very IRRESPONSIBLE. Because of such
> mistakes, people who're serious about running secure email servers also
> run into problems due to ISPs blocking the smtp ports. My ISP blocked
> port 25 because of stupid people running servers on winxp and some
> ignorant/irresponsible people running open relays on *nix boxes. An
> entire community of Linux gurus and hobbyists was affected by this.


In all fairness, (and not intending to disagree in any way with the
assertion that such an error was indeed irresponsible), you have to
take into account the flood of Winworms as another reason to block
outbound-25.

Considering using OpenBSD's PF on my firewall, to stop winboxen from
connecting on port 25 at all (let the exchange lusers hide behind a
BSD/Linux box like they should.) because of the ISPs that DON'T filter
out-25.


--
Why would burglars need to look for a backdoor when they can climb in
through Windows?" --Norman L DeForest in NANAE
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
www.UnixAdminTalk.com